Resolving Read-Only forecasts

If a forecast opens in Read-Only mode, you will find the functionality is limited.  Although you can view reports and data entry screens, you cannot change forecast data, element properties and other settings. 

To regain full access to a Read-Only forecast, try these solutions:

1. Check that only one version of the file is open

It is possible to open multiple versions of the same file at the same time. However, only the first-opened version will allow full access. All subsequent instances will open as Read-Only.

 

2. Check that Windows attributes are not set to Read-Only

  • ensure that the file is not open in any instance of Castaway
  • in Windows Explorer (or Finder on an Apple Mac), locate the forecast data file (.pxif file type)
  • right click and check the Attributes.  If 'Read-only' is ticked, untick it, click 'Apply' and then open the file again in Castaway

 

3. Check whether a lock file is still in place for the forecast

A lock file is created whenever you open a forecast in Castaway. It prevents other users opening the file with full access, which in turn prevents file conflicts. The lock file is designed to be deleted automatically when the forecast is closed.

However, if the connection to your server/data storage is interrupted or the system crashes, the lock file may stay in place. As a result, your Castaway forecast will open next time as read only.

If Castaway is closed, there should be no lock files present. To check for undeleted lock files:

  • ensure that the Castaway application is closed
  • in Windows Explorer (or Find on an Apple Mac), locate the folder that containts your forecast data file
  • look for any lock files. These appear as data files with the same name as your forecast, but with a ~ prefix and a .lck file type
  • note that Windows hides lock files by default. To make them visible, go to Control Panel > Folder Options > View and select 'Show hidden files, folders and drives
  • as long as Castaway is closed, any lock files still in place can be safely deleted

  

4. Special rules for consolidations

When you open a Consolidation file, the subsidiary files will be open at the same time. The logic is:

  • if a subsidiary file is already open in Castaway when the consolidation file is opened, the subsidiary file will remain accessible (ie it will not go read-only)
  • if a subsidiary file is not already open when the consolidation file is opened, Castaway opens the subsidiary file in the background, but this file is not immediately accessible to the user. If the subsidiary file is then opened using normal processes, it will open in read-only mode. In this case, open the subsidiary file by right-clicking on the project name in the Chart of Accounts and selecting Open Projects

 

5. Check that your Castaway licence is current

  • If your Castaway licence is not current, you will see a message when Castaway opens that the licence has expired and it will open in read-only mode.  Contact our Support Team (support@castawayforecasting.com) to arrange for the licence to be renewed

 

6. If these options don't work, try these options

  1. Close Castaway and reopen it, then try re-opening the file
  2. In Castaway, use 'File > Save as' to save a new version of the file, then open the new version

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.